Author Topic: Life Lessons ... seeking advice  (Read 4825 times)

Offline WetRaider

Life Lessons ... seeking advice
« on: June 18, 2012, 10:15:46 PM »
Not much of a boat topic here, but after meeting a good handful of you, I will welcome any advice on the following:

Courtney and I are in a pickle.  The short version is that I was losing more contracts than I was signing when we lived in San Antonio.  I studied architecture, interior design and urban design in college - graduated with an accredited degree.  The professional licensure program is very long and involved - I've taken and passed two of my three licensing exams.  I will take the third in October.  While in Texas, I owned a design-build firm.  At first it was ideal - there was some good design work and clients were receptive to paying for design.  Over a couple years, I found myself attracting clients that wanted design for free ... so I entertained them by becoming a general contractor - I could design their project and then build it.  A little more time passes and I'm working construction more than design.  By 2009 I had watched about $3.5 Million worth of contracts walk out the door because the clients had lost so much portfolio value, or lost jobs & couldn't pay for what they'd signed up for.

Courtney had been a stay at home mom and had a very strong calling to pursue her career.  Her degree is Healthcare Administration, with additional work towards elderly care & dementia.  She's a licensed nursing home administrator and was offered a job in Centerville.  The original plan was to get 2-3 years experience under her belt and begin looking for work in a more metropolitan area.  We thought I might be able to find some work, too.