Author Topic: 1980 CVX-16 Restoration Thread  (Read 32594 times)

Offline 17ireid

• 1980 Glastron CVX 16 Deluxe
1980 CVX-16 Restoration Thread
« on: August 29, 2016, 10:45:51 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm Isaiah and I'm restoring a 1980 CVX-16, and decided to make a thread of it. I will be restoring this boat throughout the year in a high school composite class and hopefully keep you updated and get some help along the way. I bought this boat when I was a Freshman in high school, because I thought they were the coolest thing after seeing one for sale by the side of the road. Anyway I thought all it needs is a cheap paint job and I'm on the water. But, silly me I forgot the old adage (Bail.Out.Another.Thousand) Anyway 4 years (senior in high school), 3 failed paint jobs, and a lot of learning from your mistakes later, I have a completely gutted boat and a new improved plan (also a job so no more being cheap). This boat was/is a basket case and I understand they arent worth much, but hey it's fun, i'm learning, and thats worth a lot to me.

The boat will be restored to factory for the most part with new:
-floor/stringers/transom
-gelcoat (metalflake laser blue, with blue)
-Interior
-Engine (and all that jazz)
-non-original dash and electronics, because I accidentally messed up my plastic switch plate and stuff
-also planning on rechroming a bunch of bits
-possibly rub rail

Anyway sorry for the long intro, heres where I am. Stripping a bunch of rustoleum I slathered on there. Sorry about how filthy it is it's been under that tarp all summer, hopefully these photos will show up.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2016, 10:53:33 AM by 17ireid »

Offline 17ireid

Re: 1980 CVX-16 Restoration Thread
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2016, 10:51:07 AM »
Some more pictures for y'all:

1. As I got it
2. After painting it (the third time) didn't actually look to bad but it probably would have fell apart and sunk XD

Offline Oldfishguy

• Donate members
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2016, 12:02:38 PM »