Author Topic: New to boating... What can anyone tell me about this boat? 1974 Glastron?  (Read 7315 times)

Offline triv911

Hello all,

I am new to boating and am looking for a boat that is good for myself, wife, two small children on a small Minnesota lake. I came across this Glastron. Original owner died, been sitting in son's garage. It is free to me if I want it but I know NOTHING about it. He doesn't either. He thinks it is a 1974 Glastron. To me, not knowing any better, it seems to be in great shape. I have a 60HP for the back. Anyone able to ID this boat and tell me about it? Good? Bad? Stay away?

Thank you in advance!

Offline Hyperacme

• Administrator
Great little boats ... Early to mid 70's V-156.
60 HP will get you mid 30's mph.
Boat looks to be in very good shape for it's age.
Any soft / weak spots in floor ?
Take a sharp object and poke around transom ( In side boat, under splash well & around old motor mount holes )

Price is right ... Good boat to start with ...

Offline triv911

Thanks! I can have it for free just to get it out of his garage. Is it a good family boat? fishing boat? Floor seems solid as I walked all over it, jumped around..nothing that caught my attention.

Offline Hyperacme

• Administrator
Glastron sold a crap load of V-156's.
At least 5 or 6 company's made copy's of it's hull.
Very stable for a 15 and half foot boat, at rest you can stand on front bow seat and not tip boat much ...
If you don't like the windshield in your way for fishing , it can be removed.

Biggest deal with old Glastrons and almost any old boat is weak/rotted wood in transom, floor under transom and stringer under that.
Transom is two half inch pieces of plywood nailed together, with one sheet of fiberglass covering it.
Dealer drill's holes for your motor in it and should have seaedl holes with some sort of sealant, even if he did it could have gotten old and let water in and wood rotted.