General Category > General Discussion

1973 Glastron Carlson CV-16 Restoration

(1/6) > >>

CamCobalt:
Hey all! I recently bought a 1973 CV-16 for a restoration. This is my first boat restoration and came across this forum while trying to find some advice. You all are the most knowledgeable out of all the forums I checked (and rightly so) and this is dedicated to Glastrons and Carlsons.

I have looked through quite a few postings, and they have answered a bit of my questions but I thought I would start my own thread to keep track of the progress and also the help I desperately need haha!

If at anytime I'm asking a question someone has already answered somewhere else and I just missed it please point me in the right direction! I'm still learning of course.

CamCobalt:
Attached are some pictures of the boat through a google album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/J3363Mpb24mcLpFB9
https://photos.app.goo.gl/J3363Mpb24mcLpFB9

My current questions reside in the structural integrity of the current boat before restorations as well as identification.
1) I previously thought there were 3 stringers but after going through other posts I now know there is only this one in the center. Mine is still glassed in as you can see, however would anyone recommend doing a core sample to make sure it is not rotted? The plywood flooring underneath the fiberglass was rotted in 3 places, and wet everywhere.

2) there is no HIN on the boat whatsoever. Not on the rear transom or under the steering, I am planning on calling the Louisiana wildlife department (it was registered there in 2010) and seeing if they can provide its HIN, year, or something like that.