Author Topic: my first power boat - used 1978 Glastron SSV-177  (Read 4917 times)

Offline Neutron68

• 1978 SSV-177, Mercruiser 140
my first power boat - used 1978 Glastron SSV-177
« on: May 12, 2014, 10:08:06 AM »
Hi,

My name is Eric.  I've been using the forum for about 9 months, and just noticed this introduction area this weekend!  Whoops!

I live in Minneapolis, MN.  I've had a canoe for several years, but never owned a power boat.

In summer 2013, I bought a lake cabin near Paynesville, MN and decided I should get a boat to go with it.
My main goal is pleasure cruises around the lake and some night running (with stargazing from the boat), and a little fishing here and there.
I suppose at some point someone might want me to pull an inner tube, but that's not my primary aim.

I'm an electrical engineer, not a mechanic.  My dad was a car mechanic when he was younger, but he never showed me what he knew.
I've got a limited knowledge of gasoline engines and little experience doing engine work, so I suspect 'll be asking more engine and mechanical questions than anything. 
I've just got basic tools (common wrenches, socket set) so I probably don't have all I need to remove and adjust hard-to-reach engine parts.