Author Topic: mercury premium plus oil  (Read 7052 times)

Offline badgercarlson

mercury premium plus oil
« on: July 09, 2011, 09:53:52 AM »
In my 1977 Merc 1150, I want to start using Mercury Premium "Plus" oil instead of Mercury Premium oil which I have been using for many years.  Got about 4 gallons of gas remaining in my 18 gallon tank.  Can I just fill the tank up with the gas/oil mix using Premium Plus or do I need to run the tank down to empty?

Offline Hyperacme

• Administrator
Re: mercury premium plus oil
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2011, 10:05:47 AM »
Both are regular oil so shouldn't have a problem.
Might want to do it if you were changing to Synthetic oil though ...

Offline badgercarlson

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2011, 11:41:15 AM »
That's what I figured.  Thanks.

Offline wexrocks

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 09:08:11 PM »
I switched to Mercury Premium Plus on my Evinrude 175, based on all the things I read about the differences over the regular Premium, not sure how much of a difference there really is, I'm certainly not an oil expert, just hoping to make this old motor stay strong as long as I can. I simply switched over with probably 3-5 gallons in the tank, maybe should not have done that, I don't know, but I do know that the Premium Plus says right on the bottle that it is a synthetic, so if you are not wanting to use a synthetic, you may want to look into something else. I know it costs quite a bit more, I just hope that it's actually doing more!  ;D
'79 CVZ-19 "convertible" w/Evinrude 175
'81 Scimitar
'89 CSS-19

Offline Hyperacme

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2011, 10:29:26 PM »
After reading Jerry's post on Amsol I did some reading on there Synthetic 2 cycle oil.
Didn't find any bad comments on it, but found some people getting increases of 200 rpm's and cleaner running motors plus less smoke/smell.
Price for a pint is less then a dollar over Evinrude XD30 oil.
Will do some investigating on the Merc Premium Plus ...